Several BJP workers from Fatorda join Goa Forward Party


A year after contesting the municipal elections, several leaders from then BJP-backed panel in Margao town have joined Goa Forward Party ahead of the state Assembly elections scheduled early next year.

Goa Forward Party president Prabhakar Timble on Saturday welcomed the leaders in the party fold in presence of Independent MLA from Fatorda constituency, Vijai Sardessai.

The elections for the municipal councils was held in October last year.

Among those who joined the party were Sujay Lotlikar and Raju Naik, who were earlier in the BJP. Naik was ex- councilor from Pajifond.

Others who joined the local party were ex-councilor Ramdas Hazare, Charlton Baretto, Vitorino Tavares, Custodio Dias, Mayur Naik and Florindo Miranda.

Sardesai welcomed the new entrants into the party and said unity is the key to a developed Fatorda.

“BJP might have star campaigners and central ministers to campaign and canvas for them in election but our strength lies in our local leaders who understand the sentiment of the local people,” he said.

On the occasion, Timble said Goa Forward is a movement providing opportunities for Goans to be political and social leaders.

(With PTI inputs)

Previous articleMangalore Refinery under lens for alleged excise duty evasion
Next articleUri attack a deplorable affront on national conscience: Sonia Gandhi