“Honest campaigner”: Navika Kumar, Times Now face public ridicule after controversial anchor invites Adityanath to flag off election bus


Times Now’s Navikar Kumar is facing widespread condemnation after she invited Yogi Aidtyanath to flag off the election bus of her TV channel. In the viral video, Navika looked overwhelmed by Adityanath’s presence as the divisive Hindutva leader flagged off Times Now Navbharat’s election bus. As expected, the controversial TV anchor is facing intense criticism with many raising questions on the objectivity of Times Now’s so-called journalism.

In the viral video, a visibly overwhelmed Navika could be seen standing next to Adityanath as he flagged off the election bus of Times Now Navbharat. Speaking in the background, a Times Now anchor said, “Yogi Adityanath flagged off this bus with his blessings. We will try and gauge the mood of UP voters through this bus journey.”

Another anchor, equally overwhelmed by Adityanath’s presence, announced how the controversial BJP politician had blessed the Times Now bus with his presence. This anchor went a step further to take a solemn pledge to contribute to the nation-building exercise in India.

A third anchor claimed that despite this brazen display of unity between Times Now and the BJP, the TV channel will continue to report objectively on the election campaign.

One user shared the video with a caption that read, “Honest campaigner bus.”

Soon, Navika and Times Now began to face public ridicule. Activist Kavita Krishnan wrote, “.@TimesNow does away with the pretence of journalistic objectivity, has their election coverage bus flagged off by a Chief Minister of UP, thus acknowledging that it’s a propaganda bus for the ruling party. Should not be allowed to enjoy privileges of a TV “News” channel anymore.” Another user wrote, “Today two mergers happened. Amar Jawan Jyothi with National War Memorial @TimesNow Election bus with @BJP4India Election campaign.”

“Yogi ji own channel…congrats on launch of bus yatra yogiji,” commented another user.

Uttar Pradesh goes to polls in seven stages with the counting of votes scheduled for 10 March.