LIVE: Rahul Gandhi announces Charanjit Singh Channi as Congress’ Punjab CM face; Navjot Singh Sidhu endorses


Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Sunday announced the name of Charanjit Singh Channi as the party’s chief ministerial candidate for this year’s Punjab elections. Navjot Singh Sidhu came forward to raise Channi’s hand to endorse Gandhi’s decision. This was after Navjot Singh Sidhu hinted at losing the CM race to Charanjit Singh Channi in the presence of Rahul Gandhi. This will finally put speculations over who will lead the party in the 20 February assembly polls. Gandhi made the announcement at a special function, which was attended by both Charanjit Singh Channi and Navjot Singh Sidhu.


Speaking at the event, Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu showered praises on Rahul Gandhi and his visionary leadership as he repeated his party’s roadmap for Punjab after it was voted to power once again this year.

Speaking at the ‘Aawaz Punjab Di’ rally in Ludhiana, Sidhu thanked Rahul Gandhi for making ‘Dalit Sikh’ Charanjit Singh Channi the chief minister of Punjab.

In a show of unity, the car that Gandhi travelled in was being driven by former Punjab Congress chief Sunil Jakhar while Sidhu and Channi remained seated behind.

While Sidhu was speaking, he urged Channi to clap. In response, Channi, who was seated next to Gandhi, rose from his chair and gave a tight hug to the cricketer-turned-politician.

Channi also thanked Gandhi for providing him with an opportunity to serve as Punjab’s chief minister for a little over 111 days.

He slammed Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal by mocking his claims of being an aam aadmi. Channi said that Kejriwal stayed in a Rs. 50,000 hotel room and splashed Rs. 500 crore on advertisements.

Channi also took a dig at Kejriwal for projecting an ‘alcoholic’ Bhagwant Mann as the AAP’s CM face for the assembly polls.

Channi said that Sidhu his government will implement Sidhu’s vision after the Congress wins elections.

Punjab goes to the polls in a single phase on 20 February with the counting of votes scheduled for 10 March.