India beat New Zealand in third T20, win series 3-0


India on Sunday defeated New Zealand by 73 runs to win the series 3-0. This is the first series win under Rohit Sharma as the full rule captain of Team India. Sharma was appointed the new captain of the Indian team in the T20 format after Virat Kohli stepped down from the post.

Batting first, India amassed a total of 184-7 in 20 overs. Sharma was the top scorer with 56 runs, scored in just 31 balls.

In response New Zealand were bowled out for 11 runs with 2.4 overs to spare.

Axar Patel took three wickets, while Harshal Patel scalped two wickets. Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal and Venkatesh Iyer shared one wicket each.

Iyer said after the match that it was good to have been given a chance to bowl since he was in the side as an all-rounder. He said that he would continue to work on his skills in the future.

This is also the first series win under Rahul Dravid as the coach of the senior Indian team. Dravid replaced Ravi Shastri, who was the team coach until the end of the just-concluded T20 World Cup.

New Zealand had lost to Australia in the final of T20 World Cup. India had failed to qualify for the semi-final of the global event, held in the UAE.