Congress President Sonia Gandhi sacks 5 state presidents including Navjot Singh Sidhu after humiliating election defeats 


Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Tuesday ordered the state party presidents of five states including Navjot Singh Sidhu after humiliating defeats in the just-concluded assembly polls.
सोनिया गांधी

Congress leader Randeep Singh Surjewala tweeted, “Congress President, Smt. Sonia Gandhi has asked the PCC Presidents of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa & Manipur to put in their resignations in order to facilitate reorganisation of PCC’s.”

The Congress failed to dislodge the BJP in four states namely Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa despite there being considerable anti-incumbency against the saffron party. The grand old party of India also failed to retain its government in Punjab, where the Aam Aadmi Party won a historic landslide by sweeping the polls.

Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu, whose appointment in his new role eight months ago, had triggered a clash within the party, too is amongst the five leaders ordered to resign from their posts.