BJP MP Shatrughan Sinha calls PM Modi ‘thief’ on Rafale deal, BJP says action will be taken


BJP MP Shatrughan Sinha on Saturday launched a tirade against his own government and Prime Minister Narendra Modi by calling the latter a ‘thief’ for his alleged involvement in the Rafale deal.

Shatrughan Sinha
Speaking at the Unity Rally, called but West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Sinha repeated the line coined by Congress President Rahul Gandhi. He said, “If you keep suppressing facts, people will continue to say ‘chowkidar chor hai.” Rahul Gandhi had first used this line to criticise Modi on the Rafale jet deal controversy.

Sinha, however, praised Banerjee, Gandhi, Samajwadi Party’s Akhilesh Yadav and RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav.

Sinha, who served as a Union minister in the NDA cabinet of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, said that there was “lokshahi” during Vajpayee’s tenure and now it’s “tanashahi” (dictatorship).

Sinha also added, “The mood of the nation is Parivartan (change). Parivartan. Parivartan. People want a new leadership. Isse zyada jaandar, shaandar aur damdaar rally maine kabhi nahin dekha.”

Reacting to Sinha’s ‘Chowkidar Chor Hai’ jibe, the BJP’s national spokesperson Rajiv Prasad called his BJP colleague an opportunist adding that the party will take punitive action against the actor-turned-politician.

He told reporters, “Sinha has been speaking against the party at various platforms. And it is always important for the BJP to act against such people and the party will take cognisance of it.”

In a huge show of strength, leading non-BJP leaders from around the countries gathered at Kolkata’s Brigade Parade Ground on Saturday. Among those who attended the Saturday’s rally were DMK leader MK Stalin, Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah, Former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge, Gujarat MLA Jignesh Mevani, Patidar leader Hardik Patel, BJP MP Shatrughan Sinha and former BJP union minister Yashwant Sinha.