Smriti Irani to join riots accused minister, MP, MLAs, to campaign in Muzaffarnagar assembly bypoll


The BJP has thrown all its weight behind the Muzaffarnagar assembly by-polls, scheduled for 13 February.

While three assembly constituencies are going for bypolls, the BJP has decided to pull all its might in the communally sensitive Muzaffarnagar, which had experienced larges-scale violence in September 2013.

Last month had reported that the saffron party had decided to contest the bypolls on the agenda of Hindutva.

Leading the campaign for the BJP are pro-Hindu faces from western UP, including Union minister Sanjeev Balyan, MP Hukum Singh and MLAs Suresh Rana and Sangeet Singh Som to campaign.

Interestingly, all four have been named in cases related to the Muzaffarnagar communal riots of 2013.

A report published in Indian Express says that the Union HRD Minister Smriti Irani too will join them soon.

Uttar Pradesh’s three assembly constituencies going for polls are Muzaffarnagar, Deoband and Faizabad.

BJP’s Muzaffarnagar district president Satyapal said, “People want to hear Suresh Rana and Sangeet Singh Som because of their aggressive image. The party is contesting the polls on development issues and targeting the SP government on its failure on law and order and development fronts.”

In a surprising move, the saffron party had replaced its candidates for all three constituencies with those known for hardcore Hindutva politics. This, analysts believe, is an explicit display of intention by the party leadership on its change in agenda.

The party even borrowed a candidate from the RSS to contest these elections.A well known Ram temple activist Ram Krishna Tiwari has been given ticket from Faizabad, while Rampal Pundir, formerly with the RSS will contest from Deoband. Kapil Dev, a former Muzaffarnagar Municipal chairman is the party’should new candidate here.