Repolling underway in 48 polling stations of Punjab


Repolling was today underway at 48 polling stations under Amritsar Lok Sabha constitutency and five assembly segments of Punjab

The repoll was ordered by the Election Commission following malfunctioning of Voter-Verified Audit Paper Trail (VVPAT) and Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in these stations during the February 4 elections.

The repolling began at 8 AM amid tight security, officials said.

The repolling was ordered at 12 polling stations of Majitha Assembly seat, nine each of Muktsar and Sangrur, one each of Moga and Sardulgarh and 16 polling stations of Amritsar Parliamentary constituency.

Problem in VVPAT was witnessed in Majithia, Muktsar and Sangrur assembly segments while EVMs were found faulty in Moga and Sardulgarh segments.

From Majitha seat, Cabinet minister and Akali candidate Bikram Singh Majithia is locked in a contest against Congress and AAP candidates Sukhjinder Raj Singh Lalli and Himmat Singh Shergill respectively.

From Muktsar, Congress has fielded Karan Kaur while SAD and AAP have fielded Kanwarjit Singh and Jagdeep Singh respectively.

From Sangrur, Congress’s nominee is Vijay Inder Singla while SAD has fielded Parkash Chand Garg and AAP has nominated Dinesh Bansal.

In Moga, Congress has fielded Harjot Kamal Singh against Akali candidate Barjinder Singh and AAP candidate Ramesh Grover.

From Sardulgarh seat, the fight is between Congress candidate Ajit Inder Singh, AAP’s Sukhwinder Singh and Akali candidate Dilraj Singh.

From Amritsar Lok Sabha seat, the poll fight is between BJP’s Rajindermohan Singh Chhina, Congress’s G S Aujla and AAP’s Upkar Sandhu.

Elections for 117 assembly segments took place on February 4 and the state recorded 78.6 per cent of voting.

Previous articleDonald Trump condemned for using President’s office in matter related to daughter’s business
Next article5 करोड़ की कार खरीदने पर उठा सवाल तो मुलायम सिंह के बेटे प्रतीक यादव ने दिया ये जवाब