Opinions in AAP split over Rajya Sabha nominations


Hours after it emerged that the Aam Aadmi Party had made up its mind over sending Sanjay Singh to the Rajya Sabha, the party appears to be divided over who it should send to the upper House of the parliament.

File Photo: PTI

A section within the AAP has suggested that sending party leaders to the Rajya Sabha was a bad idea and it should nominate outsiders to the Upper House, PTI quoted an AAP leader.

Elections to three Rajya Sabha seats from Delhi would be held on 16 January. The AAP, which has 67 MLAs in the 70-member Delhi Assembly, is all set to win all the three seats.

A group of AAP leaders is in favour of sending to the Rajya Sabha people from the fields of economics, law and social work. Yesterday, a top source in the AAP leadership had said that the party had approached as many as seven famous names for the Rajya Sabha berths, but all had turned down the offer.

They included former RBI governor, Raghuram Rajan, rebel BJP leaders, Yashwant Sinha and Arun Shourie, the founder of Infosys, N Narayana Murthy, Industrialist Sunil Munjal, the Nobel Laureate Kailash Satyarthi and former Chief Justice of India TS Thakur.

One senior leader had said, “The question doesn’t arise (that Vishwas will be sent to the Rajya Sabha). Certainly not after all the shenanigans he and his supporters have been part of in the recent days.”

Those in favour of sending outsiders to the Rajya Sabha argue that this would help the AAP leadership deal with the internal rift over Rajya Sabha berths. Senior leader Kumar Vishwas has already staked his claim for one seat as his supporters stormed the party office demanding his nomination. On Thursday, supporters of Vishwas had pitched tents in the party office demanding that leaders who have worked in the anti-corruption movement should be sent to the Rajya Sabha.

However, his nomination is all but over given his several outbursts against and uneasy equation with AAP leadership. One senior leader close to Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal told Janta Ka Reporter that ‘we are not even thinking about Kumar.’

Ignoring Vishwas may have consequences as the poet-politician reportedly enjoys supports of some MLAs.

“Many leaders who are in the core decision-making body of the party are themselves in the race. So it is Kejriwal and his deputy Manish Sisodia who will decide on the nominations,” an AAP leader was quoted by PTI.

The last date to file nominations for the three Rajya Sabha seats is 5 January.