Sting op: BJP lodges complaint against Odisha CM, BJD MLAs


Holding chief minister Naveen Patnaik responsible for the four ruling BJD MLAs allegedly demanding illegal gratification from industries, the opposition BJP on Thursday lodged a police complaint here.

BJP state unit vice-president Sameer Mohanty filed a complaint against chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and four BJD MLAs at the Capital Police Station here.

Four BJD MLAs Susant Kumar Behera (Chhendipada), Seemarani Nayak (Hindol), Anam Nayak (Bhawanipatna) and Bijay Kumar Nayak (Karanjia) – were purportedly shown in a sting operation by a private news channel two days ago seeking bribes from industries.

“They (the MLAs) have been shown asking money as bribe in the name of Chief Minister of Odisha who is the president of BJD. The Chief Minister of Odisha and the BJD MLAs are public servants and come under the purview of the Prevention of Corruption Act 1988,” Mohanty said in his complaint.

“Since the matter relates to the interest of Odisha, I, on behalf of BJP state unit, register an FIR against those MLAs and chief minister under Prevention of Corruption Act 1988 and other offences,” Mohanty said.

When contacted, Capital Police Station authorities said the complaint of Mohanty has been received as a station dairy.

“Since the state government has already ordered a vigilance probe, there is no need of a police investigation.

The allegation is made under PC Act, 1988. Only vigilance can undertake such cases,” an official of the Capital Police Station said.