NCP back-stabbed Ahmed Patel, it was JDU MLA, who voted for him


Two days after veteran Congress leader, Ahmed Patel, scripted a sensational victory in a prestige battle for Rajya Sabha elections against the BJP President, Amit Shah, it has now emerged that the NCP had back-stabbed the Congress.

(Photo : PTI)

Sources close to Patel told Janta Ka Reporter that the NCP’s public posturing of having issued a whip directing its two MLAs to vote for Patel was a ‘facade.’

“We know for sure that the NCP, despite being our ally, back-stabbed us. None of their MLAs voted for us. We suspect they had reached a secret deal with Amit Shah. It was he JDU MLA, Chhotubhai Vasava, who listened to his inner voice and for Ahmed Bhai.”

Vasava had gone on record criticising Bihar chief minister, Nitish Kumar, for his decision to form a new government with the BJP. And angry Kumar, who’s also the president of the JDU, had ensured that that both Vasava and the Gujarat state secretary of the JDU were expelled from the party.

NCP leader, Nawab Malik, on Wednesday had said that one of his MLAs had voted for Patel  before adding that his party will take disciplinary action if it emerges that both MLAs had defied the party whip.

The Gujarat Parivartan Party MLA, Nalin Kotadiya, too had released a video message on his Facebook page announcing that he too had voted for Patel. His claim came as a shock as the BJP had counted his vote in its favour.

Patel, despite facing mass exodus from his party allegedly at the behest of the former Congress leader, Shankarsinh Vaghela, and Shah, had secured 44 votes thereby getting himself elected to the Upper House for the fifth time.

Congress has since then expelled eight of its MLAs including Vaghela, who revolted against the party and voted for the BJP candidate in the Rajya Sabha elections.

Facing alleged poaching by the BJP, the Congress had taken its 44 MLAs to Karnataka. All Congress MLAs returned to Gujarat on Monday before being taken to a resort in Anand.

In the 182 seat Gujarat assembly, Congress had 57 seats. According to the state election commission, 176 MLAs voted in the Rajya Sabha polls. Patel needed just 44 MLAs’ support to be elected to the Upper House for the fifth time.