Harbhajan Singh, Raghav Chadha, Ashok Mittal, Sandeep Pathak, Sanjeev Arora; AAP announces 5 Rajya Sabha MPs from Punjab


Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party on Monday announced the names of its five Rajya Sabha MPs from Punjab. They included former cricketer Harbhajan Singh, AAP’s Punjab in-charge Raghav Chadha, Lovely Professional University Founder Ashok Mittal, IIT professor Sandeep Pathak and Ludhiana-based businessman Sanjeev Arora.

With five more MPs from Punjab, the AAP’s strength in the Upper House of Indian parliament will now rise to eight.

The AAP had won a landslide in the just-concluded Punjab assembly polls, winning 92 out of 117 seats in the state assembly. The Congress’ tally was reduced to just 18.

Reacting to his Rajya Sabha nomination, Harbhajan Singh said that his priority will be to raise sports-related issues in the parliament.

Just before the assembly polls, former Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu had triggered speculations on whether Harbhajan was set to join the party. Sharing a photo of himself with Harbhajan, the cricketer-turned-politician had tweeted, “Picture loaded with possibilities …. With Bhajji the shining star.”