Gurdaspur bypoll: Crisis in AAP as party dissolves unit in two districts


In a stunning development on Saturday, the Aam Aadmi Party in Punjab conceded defeat even before the results for the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha elections were announced. The party then announced it was dissolving its units in Gurdaspur and Pathankot districts with immediate effect, reported Hindustan Times.

Announcing the decision, AAP’s state secretary Gulshan Chhabra attributed the decision to “extensive deliberations and feedback” from the state president and Sangrur MP Bhagwant Mann and co-incharge Aman Arora, an MLA from Sunam.

Chhabra said that his party will soon announce the names of new office-bearers. Meanwhile, no one quite knows why the party did not wait until the results were announced.

Aam Aadmi Party had fielded Major General Suresh Kumar Khajuria (retd) as candidate for Gurdaspur Lok Sabha byelection. The seat fell vacant in April following the passing away of veteran actor Vinod Khanna, a four-time MP from the seat, due to cancer.

In the assembly polls held earlier this year, Congress had won a near landslide while AAP, which was confident of sweeping the polls, was only able to win couple of dozens of seats.

AAP, which had won four Lok Sabha seats in 2014, had faced revolt by its new elected MPs later on. It had suspended two of the four MPs, Dharamvira Gandhi and Harinder Singh Khalsa, for anti-party activities.

Just before the assembly polls, the party had expelled Sucha Singh Chhotepur. Of the nine candidates, who contested on AAP ticket in the assembly elections, five had left the party to join the rival camp.

AAP’s general secretary and coordinator for Gurdaspur bypoll, Lakhvir Singh, too had defected to the Congress days ahead of the bypoll.