Congress wins Madhya Pradesh bypolls, setback for BJP in Odisha

Congress has won Mungaoli assembly bypolls in Madhya Pradesh, while the saffron party candidate in Odisha has suffered a humiliating defeat.

Photo: Indian Express (File Photo)

Two seats that went to bypolls in Madhya Pradesh were Kolaras and Mungaoli, while Bijepur in Odisha was where the by-elections were conducted recently.

Congress has won Mungaoli by 2,144 votes after 19th and was leading by 4,379 votes in Kolaras after 14th round of vote count. In Kolaras too, the saffron party has reportedly lost the Congress, said sources.

Both seats fall under Guna Lok Sabha constituency of Jyotiraditya Scindia had had recorded huge voters’ turnout on 24 February.

As for Bijepur, BJD candidate Rita Sahu had defeated BJP’s Ashok Panigrahi by over 41,000 votes.

The bypolls In Madhya Pradesh were necessitated due to the death of Congress’s Mungaoli MLA Mahendra Singh Kalukheda and its Kolaras MLA Ram Singh Yadav. Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan had actively campaigned for the BJP candidates here.

A Congress leader claimed that the party’s win in bypolls was a sign of rejection of the BJP rule in the state.

In January last month, the Congress had registered huge wins in the local body polls that were bileld as the semi-final before the crucial assembly polls, scheduled to be held later this year. The Congress had managed to make a serious dent into what’s, so far, been BJP strongholds. The party had wrested Dhar, Manawar, Sardarpur, Dharampuri, Khetia and Anjad from the saffron party. Manawar in particular was special because the Congress won this from BJP after a gap of 45 years. This seat had gone to the saffron party even during the Congress rule.

BJP candidate’s poor performance in Odisha doesn’t augur well for the saffron brigade, which is desperately trying to wrest power from Naveen Patnaik, who’s been the state’s chief minister since 1999 without any interruption.


Leave a Comment