Bill to bifurcate Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories passed in Rajya Sabha


The Rajya Sabha on Monday passed the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Bill paving the way for Jammu and Kashmir to become a union territory with a provision of the legislature. 125 MPs voted in favour of the Bill, while only 61 voted in favour.

Jammu and Kashmir

With this, Jammu and Kashmir will now be split into two union territories namely Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. While Jammu and Kashmir will have the provision of the legislature, Ladakh will be administered through a Lieutenant Governor without conducting elections there.

Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu had first taken a voice vote on the subject and declared that the Bill was adopted but he decided to go for the division of votes when opposition parties disputed his assertion. The voting was briefly delayed due to technical snag prompting Naidu to hold the voting using paper slips.

This was after Home Minister Amit Shah introduced the Bill on Monday morning, sparking huge wave protests from opposition MPs. The Aam Aadmi Party had stunned everyone by extending its support to the proposals mooted by the BJP on the abrogation of Article 370 and the change in status from status to union territory on Jammu and Kashmir. Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal had tweeted extending his support to the BJP-proposed Bill on Jammu and Kashmir.

The government had come under intense scrutiny for not consulting the opposition parties and choosing to adopt the route of Presidential order.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here