Uttarakhand High Court orders officials to seal EVMs in six more assembly constituencies that went to polls in February


Uttarakhand High Court on Monday ordered sealing of electronic voting machines (EVMs) in six more assembly constituencies of the state.

An India Today report said that the order was passed by Justice Sarvesh Kumar Gupta of Uttarakhand High Court.

The high court ordered the authorities to seal the EVMs within the next 48 hours. They are Mussoorie, Rajpur, Raipur, Ranipur, Haridwar Rural and Pratappur.

The court also asked all concerned parties to respond within six weeks.

This came after Uttarakhand High Court on Thursday issued notices against Central Election Commission, the State Election Commission and BJP’s Vikasnagar MLA, Munna Singh Chauhan, on petition on EVM tampering.

On the petition filed by Navprabhat, Justice Shailesh Kumar Gupta asked the Election Commission, its state unit, the state chief secretary, the returning officer of Vikasnagar and Chauhan to file their replies within six weeks.

The high court also directed the judicial magistrate of Vikasnagar to seal and seize the EVM machines “in his custody”.

The petition alleged there was tampering and manipulation of the EVMs at Vikasnagar during the February 15 election.

It was also alleged that many fake names were listed in the voters list in the constituency including Chauhan who was listed as a voter from two different places.

Previous articleCrisis in AAP deepens as Amanatullah Khan resigns from PAC, defends his allegations against Vishwas
Next articleJNUSU files complaint against 3 twitter handles including Subramanian Swamy’s for defaming university’s female students