Arunachal’s Peoples’ Party suspends CM Khandu, 5 MLAs from primary membership

Peoples’ Party of Arunachal has suspended Chief Minister Pema Khandu, Deputy CM Chowna Mein and five other MLAs from party’s primary membership.

The five other MLAs are Jambey Tashi (Lumla), Passang Dorjee Sona (Mechuka), Chow Tewa Mein (Chowkham), Zingnu Namchom (Namsai) and Kamlung Mossang (Miao).

PPA President Kahfa Bengia in an order stated that by virtue of the power vested in him by the Constitution of the party and the resolution adopted in the state executive committee meeting held on December 20, the MLAs are placed under suspension temporarily from the primary membership with immediate effect pending initiation of disciplinary proceedings.

Bengia said prima facie he was satisfied with the proofs of their indulgence in gross “anti-party” activities.

The order further stated that with the suspension, Khandu ceased to be the leader of the PPA Legislature Party.

He directed the party MLAs and PPA functionaries not to attend any meeting called by Khandu and said that any members failing to comply with the order would have to face disciplinary action of the party.

Bengia, in a letter to Assembly Speaker T Norbu Thongdok requested him to declare the suspended MLAs as unattached members of the House and arrange separate sitting for them in the House.

He further requested the Speaker to communicate the development to the Governor.

Khandu was sworn in as the ninth Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh in July this year marking the culmination of fast-paced political developments in this north-eastern state.

Chowna Mein was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister.

Khandu had, however, staged a dramatic exodus of Congress lawmakers and joined the PPA, a BJP ally with 43 MLAs on 16 September, 65 days after the Supreme Court reinstated the Congress government in the state on 13 July.

The BJP too had later joined the coalition government.


More to follow


Leave a Comment