Supreme Court agrees to urgently hear Congress’s petition challenging Parrikar’s appointment as Goa CM


The Supreme Court has agreed to urgently hear the petition filed by the Congress party challenging the appointment of Manohar Parrikar as the new chief minister of Goa.

The petition, according to NDTV, has been filed by Goa legislative party leader who says Goa’s Governor Mridula Sinha’s decision to invite the BJP to form the government is illegal.

The party decided to approach the apex court after the BJP stitched up an alliance seeking support from regional parties, which had fought assembly polls on anti-BJP agenda.

Meanwhile, Congress has also decided to raise the issue of government formation in Goa and Manipur in the parliament tomorrow.

MUST READ: How no. 2 BJP ‘stole’ Manipur and Goa from no. 1 Congress

Congress had emerged as the single largest party with 17 seats while the BJP, whose five cabinet ministers suffered humiliating defeat in the just concluded elections, could only win 13 seats in the 40-seat Goa assembly.

Two parties (Goa Forward and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party) who voters had preferred over the BJP, have now gone to support the saffron party to form the government in the state.

Goa Forward Party is led by Vijai Sardesai, who was a senior functionary of Youth Congress before he formed his own regional outfit a year ago. His entire election campaign was based against BJP. Speaking to me in January, Sardesai, a popular leader from south Goa’s Fatorda area, had said that he had always been consistent in his opposition against the BJP.

He had told Janta Ka Reporter, “Our principal opponent is the BJP. I’ve been steadfast and consistent in my opposition of the BJP for the last five years. It’s me and not the Congress, which fought them.(sic)” Watch the entire video below

The Congress has also challenged the alleged ‘horse trading’ by the BJP in Manipur, where the saffron party has staked claim to form government despite securing just 21 seats in the 60-member assembly. Congress won 28 seats in the north-eastern state.

More to follow