Setback for Mayawati as all 6 BSP MLAs join Congress in Rajasthan


In a dramatic development, all six BSP MLAs in Rajasthan have joined the ruling Congress. These MLAs are Rajendra Singh Gudha, Jogendra Singh Awana, Wajib Ali, Lakhan Singh Meena, Sandeep Yadav and Deepchand.

(Photo by Ajay Aggarwal/ Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

These MLAs submitted their letter to the Rajasthan Assembly Speaker CP Joshi.

Speaking about their decision to join the Congress, Rajendra Singh told news agency ANI, “All six of us have formally submitted our papers. There were a lot of challenges. On one hand we are supporting their government and on the other we are contesting against them in the parliament election.”

In the last year’s assembly elections, the Congress has emerged as the single largest political party with 100 legislators. In the 200-seat Rajasthan assembly, the BJP has won 75 seats. The Congress had formed the government with the help of one MLA from its ally, the RLD.

The BJP’s tally was further reduced to 73 after two of its MLAs were elected to the parliament in this year’s Lok Sabha elections.

With all six BSP MLAs joining the Congress, the ruling party’s strength has now risen to 106, five more than the required majority.

Ashok Gehlot was named the chief minister while Sachin Pilot deputy chief minister.

Previous articleJKBOSE 11th Results 2019: Jammu and Kashmir Board of Secondary Education declares JKBOSE 11th Results 2019 @
Next articleKamal Haasan launches ‘mor(e)on’ jibe against Subramanian Swamy after BJP MP calls actor-turned-politician ‘moron’