Setback for BJP in Madhya Pradesh as CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s brother-in-law joins Congress


In a huge setback to the ruling BJP in Madhya Pradesh, the brother-in-law of Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan on Saturday joined the Congress. Sanjay Singh, brother of Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s wife Sadhna Singh, was formally inducted into the party by former union minister and Madhya Pradesh PCC chief Kamal Nath.

Speaking to reporters, Nath said, “I sincerely hope that he will continue to work for the Congress with as much sincerity as he did for the BJP. Everyone knows that the system needs to change in Madhya Pradesh. Such is the need that we are still having to deal with a system which is 50 years old.”

Sanjay Singh told reporters that he was grateful for the welcome accorded by Kamal Nath. “Truth be told, Madhya Pradesh is in need of Nath, Kamal Nath and not Shivraj. 13 years is a long time. It’s enough. Now others should also be given an opportunity.”

Singh said that Madhya Pradesh was grappling with unemployment and lack of industrial growth. He accused the BJP leadership of promoting dynasty in the state. “We’ve always fought the dynasty culture, but the same party is now promoting dynasty culture,” he said.

Madhya Pradesh will go to polls with four other states, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Telangana and Mizoram. While Madhya Pradesh will go to polls on 28 November, Chhattisgarh will have two-phase elections. The first phase of polling will take place on 12 November, while the remaining 72 seats in the northern Chhattisgarh will see elections on 20 November.

As for Rajasthan, elections here will take place on 7 December along with Telangana.

Several opinion polls have predicted a shock defeat for the BJP in Madhya Pradesh in the coming elections. According to ABP News survey, the BJP is likely to fall short of majority for the first time in over a decade. In the 230-seat assembly, the survey said, the Congress will secure a comfortable majority by winning 122 seats. The saffron party has been predicted to win just 108 seats.