Pakistan imposes travel ban on visitors from 26 countries including India


Pakistan has imposed a ban on travellers from 26 countries including India, Bangladesh and Iran. The neighbouring country’s National Comm­and and Operation Centre on Saturday released the list of countries placed under its new categories classified as A, B and C.

According to the local media, an official from Pakistani’s Ministry of National Health Services (NHS) said that the measure was to effectively deal with the COVID-19 pandemic. “Countries in A category are exempted from the mandatory Covid-19 test, travellers from areas in B category require a negative polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test that must be taken within 72 hours of the travel date while countries in C category are restricted and people can travel only under specific NCOC guidelines,” the official was quoted as saying.

26 countries listed in the C category are India, Iran, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Indonesia, Iraq, the Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka, the Philippines, Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, South Africa, Tunisia, Bolivia, Chile, Columbia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Namibia, Paraguay, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago and Uruguay.