Assembly polls in five states to be spread over three weeks, counting four days after last day of elections


The Election Commission of India have announced the dates for the assembly elections in states including Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. The announcement came soon after Prime Minister Narendra Modi was ‘allowed’ to complete his rally in Ajmer.


Starting the press conference, Chief Election Commissioner apologised for the shifting of the announcement time from 12.30 to 15.00 citing some ‘compulsions.’ The Congress had questioned the integrity of the national poll body for its decision.

“Political parties are political creatures and they have to see politics in everything. For that we have no comments, “OP Rawat said.

The model code of conduct will kick in as soon as the announcement by the election commission is made. This means that the state governments will not be able to make any announcement benefiting the voters until the new government is formed after the polls.

BJP is currently in government in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh while the TRS governed Telangana since the state was carved out of Andhra Pradesh in 2014.

Stakes have become incredibly high for the upcoming assembly elections since this will be last major electoral exercise before the next year’s Lok Sabha polls, when Modi will be seeking re-election as prime minister.

BSP Supremeo Mayawati had last week dropped a bombshell by announcing that she will contest the assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh without an alliance with the Congress party. Mayawati’s party had contested on over 220 seats in 2013 in Madhya Pradesh but could only win four seats securing little over 6% vote share.

Here are the highlights of his announcement.

  • Counting will be held on 11 December 2018
  • Elections in Telangana and Rajasthan will be held on 7 December
  • Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram will go to polls on 28 November
  • Election for northern Chhattisgarh (72 seats) will be 20 November
  • In troubled part of southern Chhattisgarh (18 assembly seats), the election will be held on 12 November (Monday).
  • In Telangana, the model code of conduct kicked in from the day the assembly was dissolved
  • Model code of conduct will kick in from today in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram
  • Simultaneous elections will be held in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram, before 15 December