LIVE UPDATES: Karnataka CM Kumaraswamy’s trust vote, BJP out of race for Speaker’s post


Amidst a series of extraordinary events over the last 10 days, the Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy will face a trust vote today (25 May) to prove majority in the state assembly.

PTI Photo/Shailendra Bhojak

The JDS-Congress coalition, forged after the assembly polls of 12 May threw up a hung verdict, replaced the BS Yeddyurappa-led BJP government which assumed office on 17 May and exited two days later after failing to muster the numbers for a simple majority.

The BJP had won 104 in the 224 state assembly, while the Congress and the JDS had won 78 and 38 seats respectively. The two independent MLAs too had extended support to the anti-BJP alliance.

Yeddyurappa was forced to resign even before he could prove his majority in the state assembly. Top opposition names had gathered in Bengaluru earlier this week for the swearing in ceremony of Kumaraswamy. As part of the deal, the Congress has got the post of deputy chief minister’s post and the position of the assembly’s Speaker. Of the 34 ministers, 22 will go to the Congress while the JDS will get 12 cabinet berths including the post CM.

Here are live update:

  • BJP calls for state-wide band on 28 May
  • Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy wins floor test after 117 MLAs voted in his favour.
  • BS Yeddyurappa, in a fiery speech, says Congress has sacrificed its future in Karnataka by allying with JDS.
  • BJP dares new chief minister H D Kumaraswamy to waive farm loans in 24 hours or face protests from Monday. BJP threatens Karnataka bandh on May 28.
  • BJP MLAs walk out of Karnataka Assembly ahead of floor test by HD Kumaraswamy repeating what they did last week after BS Yeddyurappa failed to prove majority and resigned.
  • Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has moved the motion of confidence in the state assembly – ANI
  • Ramesh Kumar, speaker of the House from 1994 to 1999, will conduct the floor test where Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy will face later today to prove his majority in the house.
  • Congress’ Ramesh Kumar elected as Speaker of Karnataka Assembly
  • We withdrew (nomination of BJP candidate) as we wanted the election to be unanimous in order to maintain dignity of the Speaker’s post :BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa
  • BJP out of Speaker race withdrawing Suresh Kumar’s name – ABP News
  • Congress MLAs reach Vidhana Soudha ahead of floor test
  • CM Kumaraswamy exudes confidence ahead of floor test
  • JDS-Congress govt faces floor test at 12.15 pm