Late Ananth Kumar’s wife Tejaswini left shocked after BJP denies her ticket from Bangalore South


The BJP has had to face considerable revolt across India after several prominent faces have been denied tickets for this year’s Lok Sabha polls. The latest in the series the wife of late Union Minister Ananth Kumar, whose name was proposed the BJP candidate from Bangalore South parliamentary seat by the Karnataka unit of the party.

Ananth Kumar

However, the BJP’s central leadership on Tuesday stunned everyone by announcing the name of 28-year-old Tejasvi Surya, who himself was shocked over his name as the new candidate from the high-profile Bangalore South seat. A shocked Surya took to Twitter to express his excitement as he wrote, “OMG OMG!!! I can’t believe this. PM of world’s largest democracy & President of largest political party have reposed faith in a 28 yr old guy to represent them in a constituency as prestigious as B’lore South. This can happen only in my BJP. Only in #NewIndia of @narendramodi.”

Elsewhere, late Ananth Kumar’s wife Tejaswini Ananth Kumar too did not mince words when she expressed her disappointment on the rejection of her name as the Bangalore South candidate. “It is shocking to (my workers) and even to me. I have been telling myself it is important to show our maturity, that we are a party with a difference,” Tejaswini Ananth Kumar said in an interview to news agency ANI.

Karnataka BJP chief BS Yeddyurappa had earlier said that Tejaswini will be the party’s candidate from Bangalore South. Tejaswini, however, said that she had convinced her workers to work for the party and get Narendra Modi elected as the prime minister again.

59-year-old Ananth Kumar had died of cancer in November last year.

The development comes just a day before Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad had to face angry protests from his own party workers outside the Patna airport.

In Uttar Pradesh, veteran BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi was left disappointed after the party denied him a ticket to contest in this year’s parliamentary polls. In 2014, he had won from Kanpur with a huge margin.