JDU MP Virendra Kumar resigns from Rajya Sabha in protest against Nitish Kumar’s decision to join hands with BJP


Kerala JD(U) president MP Veerendra Kumar resigned from the Rajya Sabha in protest against Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s decision to form an alliance with the BJP. This came a week after Kumar had said that he did not want to continue as the Member of Parliament of the party led by Nitish Kumar.

File Photo: AP

JDU has already expelled two other Rajya Sabha MPs, Sharad Yadav and Ali Anwar, both of whom had criticised Nitish Kumar for joining hands with the BJP. Veerendra Kumar is the chairman and managing director of the Malayalam daily newspaper Mathrubhumi. ‘I have taken a decision to resign from Rajya Sabha.

I do not wish to continue as RS member under Mr Nitish Kumar who joined sangh parivar’, he had told reporters. Kumar was elected to the Rajya Sabha in March 2016. “I have already communicated the decision to Mr Nitish Kumar”, he had said. On his plans, Kumar said: “First we will discuss about party’s future in the state committee and decide further course of action.”

He said the Bihar Chief Minister told him not to resign and that he considers him as one of the tall socialist leaders in the country. “But I have conveyed my decision to Mr Nitish Kumar and party”, he said. JD(U) is presently a partner in the Congress led UDF Opposition in Kerala..

Kumar joined the UDF fold after snapping ties with CPI-M led ruling LDF over differences on Kozhikode Lok sabha seat with CPI-M in 2009. He was in Janata Dal (Secular) headed by former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda from 1999 to 2010. Veerendra Kumar parted ways with the JD(S) and formed the Socialist Janata (Democratic) Party in 2010.