India beat New Zealand by 372 runs, win series


India on Monday defeated New Zealand by a huge margin of 372 runs to win the two-match series 1-0. The first Test between the two teams in Kanpur had ended in a draw.

India had made 325 runs in their first innings with Ajaz Patel of New Zealand becoming only the third bowler in the history to pick up all 10 wickets in a Test innings. However, the Kiwis were bowled out for just 62 runs in their first innings.

India had declared their second innings at 276/7 in their second innings, giving the visitors a mammoth target of 540 runs to win. But, Kiwi batsmen once again surrendered before an inspiring Indian attack and were bowled out for 167 runs.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Jayant Yadav picked up four wickets each while Axar Patel one Kiwi batsman. With his four-wicket haul, Ashwin went past Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh to claim 50 wickets or more in a calendar year for the most number of times. Ashwin has achieved this feat on four occasions, while Kumble and Singh pulled off this achievement on three occasions in their career. Former India skipper Kapil Dev picked up 50 wickets or more in a calendar year on two occasions.