Four more MLAs including one from Congress resign to join BJP


Crisis in the Congress in Meghalaya deepened on Monday after it emerged that four more legislators, including Alexander Hek of the ruling party, will resign from the assembly on Tuesday to join the BJP ahead of the 2018 state elections.

They include Nationalist Congress Party legislator Sanbor Shullai and two Independents — Justine Dkhar and Robinus Syngkon.

“We will be resigning as members of the Meghalaya assembly on Tuesday and thereafter join the BJP at a public meeting in Golf Links,” Hek told IANS.

The meeting will be attended by Union Tourism minister K.J. Alphons, who is also the party’s Meghalaya election in-charge, Assam minister and North East Democratic Alliance convener Himanta Biswa Sarma, and others.

BJP state President Shibun Lyngdoh said all the four legislators decided to join the BJP after observing the overall performance of the BJP-led NDA government at the national level.

“Who doesn’t want to be part of the growing and happy family? And there are more surprises in the days to come when more legislators will be joining us,” Lyngdoh told IANS.

The latest development follows the announcement that five Congress MLAs had decided to quit the assembly thereby bringing the government to minority as the party’s majority fell short of the required 31 in the 60-member assembly. With today’s resignation, Congress’s strength in the assembly has now come down to 23.

The term of the current House expires on 6 March and elections are due early next year in the state along with Nagaland and Tripura.