Corruption-tainted BS Yeddyurappa appointed BJP’s Karnataka chief


BJP on Friday made series of appointments to head the party several states including Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh and Punjab.

The most notable among them was the appointment of BS Yedurappa, who was made the chief of saffron party in Karnataka.

Yeddyurappa was forced to resign as Karnataka chief minister in July 2011 for allegedly receiving bribes to favour a private company in the illegal mining case. He was even sent to prison, a development that severely dented the credibility of the saffron party.

BJP, subsequently, lost Karnataka assembly elections to Congress party.

Yeddyurappa’s appointment was hailed by party workers in Karnataka as his supporters burst fire crackers outside the state party office in Bengaluru.


Elsewhere, Keshav Prasad Maurya was also appointed to head to the party in Uttar Pradesh.

Maurya, the party’s Lok Sabha MP, too brings host of baggage with him.

Maurya is facing criminal charges in as many as 10 cases. According to The Hindu, he is the prime accused in a murder case, has also been booked for promoting enmity between groups, criminal intimidation, deliberate acts of hurting religious sentiment, criminal conspiracy and rioting.

Here are the other appointments announced today:

  • BS Yeddyurappa to be the next BJP Karnataka state president
  • Keshav Prasad Maurya to be the next BJP state president of Uttar Pradesh
  • Dr.K Laxman to be the next BJP state president of Telangana.
  • Tapir Gao to be the next BJP state president of Arunachal Pradesh
  • Vijay Sampla, BJP’s Dalit face from Punjab, appointed as party’s state unit chief

Punjab is scheduled to go for crucial assembly elections next year.\

Previous articleHow Twitter’s ‘History’ account is providing laughter medicine to Indians
Next articleWhen a reporter’s question left Amit Shah red-faced in Assam