Congress wins Amritsar Lok Sabha bypolls, AAP candidate third

Congress’s Gurjit Singh Aujla has won the Lok Sabha bypolls in Amritsar constituency, defeating Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina of BJP by a whopping 1,99,189 votes.
Aam Aadmi Party’s Upkar Singh Sandhu was placed third.
Aujla received 508153 votes while Chhina got 308964 with AAP candidate only able to secure 149984 votes.
The seat had fallen vacant after Capt Amarinder Singh resigned in protest against the Supreme Court’s order on water dispute with Haryana last year.
In assembly elections, Congress had swept the state by winning 77 out of 117 assembly seats on Saturday.
More to follow
Previous article“Arvind Kejriwal is like a summer storm which came and has gone”
Next articleHere’s why Manoj Sinha could become Uttar Pradesh’s next CM