BJP scores big in Tripura, Left and Congress decimated

The BJP on Saturday registered a resounding victory in Tripura as the saffron brigade was on course to secure more than 40 seats in the 60-seat assembly in the state. The BJP’s vote share too jumped from 1.5% in the last assembly polls five years ago to a whopping 50% today.

In Meghalaya, the Congress appears to be emerging as the single largest party despite at least five of its MLAs having joined the BJP just before the election process started in the state. The Congress is set to win 21 seats in the 60-member assembly. National People Party had won five seats and was leading on 14 seats. The BJP had won just won two seats.

Counting of votes had begun for three key north-east states Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagalandat 8 AM on Saturday. Elections in these states were held on 18 and 27 February.

Reacting to the Saturday’s results, the BJP’s general secretary and in-charge for the north-east affairs, Ram Madhav said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi must be credited with today’s victory in Tripura.

He said, “The prime minister had addressed four rallies in Tripura. He had worked very hard and continuously monitored our campaigning. The credit must go to him.” The BJP’s parliamentary board will meet on Saturday evening to take a decision on its chief minister’s name for Tripura.

Meghalaya had a Congress government for the last 10 years, while Tripura has had a communist government of Manik Sarkar, who has been the chief minister of the state since 1998. In Tripura, BJP fought elections with the newly formed outfit Indegenous People’s Front of Tripura. In the last assembly, the Left had 50 seats while remaining 10 were held by Congress. Nearly 90% voting had taken place in Tripura.

Almost all exit polls hav given advantage to the BJP and allies in the three states. Today’s results will assume significance in the saffron party’s attempts to expand its dominance in the north-east.

Here are the live updates:-

  • BJP set to win landslide in Tripura, leads on 39 seats. Left on the verge of humiliating defeat
  • Left Front leading on 30, BJP on 26 seats in Tripura
  • Congress leads on 13 seats, NPP on 10 and BJP 4 in Meghalaya
  • Left ahead in Tripura with 27 seats, BJP leads on 23 seats
  • Postal ballots will be counted first before the EVMs are opened for counting.
  • Counting has started in three states of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland. Please stay tuned for live updates.







Leave a Comment