BJP fields Ravi Shankar Prasad in place of Shatrughan Sinha from Patna Sahib, Giriraj Singh moved to Begusarai


The BJP on Saturday announced the names of its candidates, who will be contesting this Lok Sabha polls in Bihar. Notable among them is Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, who will be trying his luck from Patna Sahib. In 2014, Shatrughan Sinha had won this seat for the BJP. Sinha’s relationship with his party under Prime Minister Narendra Modi strained in the last five years, prompting speculations that he may quit the BJP.

Ravi Shankar Prasad has been a key part of Narendra Modi’s cabinet at the Centre.

Ravi Shankar Prasad
File Photo: PIB

Another significant name announced by BJP’s Bihar in-charge Bhupendra Yadav was Nawada MP Giriraj Singh, who will be contesting from Begusarai. His Nawada seat has been given to Lok Janshakti Party as part of the seat sharing deal. The LJP has fielded Chandan Kumar from here in this year’s parliamentary polls.

The LJP has fielded Chirag Paswan, son of party chief Ram Vilas Paswan, from Jamui Lok Sabha seat.

The BJP has also fielded Ramkirpal Yadav to once again contest from Patliputra, while RK Singh has been fielded from Arrah. Aswani Choubey will contest from Buxar, Radha Mohan Singh from East Champaran and Rajiv Pratap Rudy, who had gone into political oblivion of sorts, will try his luck from Saran.

The saffron’s candidate from Muzaffarpur will be Ajay Nishad, while Rama Devi will lock horns in Sheohar.

The BJP and the JDU will be contesting on 17 seats each in Bihar, while another NDA partner LJP will field candidates on remaining six seats.

Previous articleVIDEO: गुरुग्राम में मुस्लिम परिवार की पिटाई पर भड़के सीएम अरविंद केजरीवाल, बोले- ‘ये लोग हिंदू नहीं, हिंदुओं के वेष में गुंडे हैं’
Next articleलोकसभा चुनाव: पुरी से बीजेपी उम्मीदवार घोषित किए जाने के बाद ट्रोल हुए संबित पात्रा, यूजर्स ने ऐसे लिए मजे