Assembly bypolls: Read which party won where, setback for AAP in Delhi


Results for 10 assembly seats were announced on Thursday with BJP winning five seats, while Congress winning two seats and leading in Madhya Pradesh’s Ater after the nine rounds of counting. Trinamool and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha have won one seat each.

In Delhi, AAP faced a humiliating defeat after its candidate lost deposit in Rajouri Garden seat, which was won by the BJP.

Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia admitted that people were upset with the party over its legislator quitting to contest from Punjab.

“There was anger among people after Jarnail went to Punjab. We tried convincing them, but with the results we are realising that people were not convinced and remained upset.

“We will pull up our socks in the upcoming polls and also try to convince the people of Rajouri Garden. Whatever work was done by Jarnail we will carry it forward,” Sisodia said.

Here are the detailed results of all 10 seats from eight states.

Jharkhand – Littipara: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha won by nearly 13,000 votes.

Himachal Pradesh – Bhoranj: BJP’s Anil Dhiman won by more than 8,000 votes

Madhya Pradesh – Bandhavgarh: BJP’s Shivnarayan Singh won by more than 25,000 votes

Madhya Pradesh- Ater: Congress’s Hemant Katare won by 857 votes

Rajasthan – Dholpur: BJP’s Shobha Rani Kushavah won by more than 34,000 votes

West Bengal – Kanthi Dakshin: TMC’s Chandrima Bhattacharya won by more than 42,000 votes

Delhi- Rajouri Garden: BJP’s Manjinder Singh Sirsa won by more than 14,000 seats

Assam – Dhemaji : BJP’s Ranoj Pegu won the seat by more than 9,000 votes

Karnataka- Gundlupet : MC Mohan Kumari of Congress won by more than 10,000 votes

Karnataka – Nanjangud: Kalale N Keshavamurthy of Congress won by more than 15,000 votes