Amma returns as Tamil Nadu CM today


AIADMK chief J Jayalalithaa will be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the fifth time at the Madras University Centenary Hall at 11 am today.

Governor K Rosaiah will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Jayalalithaa along with 28 other ministers.

Yesterday, the Governor had invited Jayalalithaa to form the government after AIADMK leader O. Panneerselvam submitted his resignation as Chief Minister of the state.

Earlier, AIADMK MLAs unanimously elected Jayalalithaa as their leader, thereby, clearing her way to return as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. Party Treasurer and Chief Minister O Panneeerselvam forwarded the motion to elect her as legislature party leader which was seconded by Electricity Minister Natham R Vishwanathan.

AIADMK spokesperson, CR Saraswathi had clearly stated on Wednesday that Jayalalithaa would take charge as the CM of Tamil Nadu on 23 May.

Jayalalithaa was acquitted by the Karnataka High Court in the Rs 66.65 crore disproportionate assets case, quashing a special court order convicting her to four years in prison and imposing a fine of Rs 100 crore on her in the case.