AAP’s Sanjay Singh’s name is finalised for Rajya Sabha: Media reports


Aam Aadmi Party has reportedly finalised the name of its leader, Sanjay Singh, for one of the three Rajya Sabha seats from Delhi. The last date for filing the nomination is 5 January, while the election will take place on 12 January.

फाइल फोटो

Quoting sources several media reports said that the AAP had made up its mind on Sanjay Singh, who’s been with the party and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal since its inception more than five years ago.

He had also led the party’s campaign in this year’s Punjab assembly elections.

Another name doing the rounds is of Asutosh, who had left journalism to join the party just before the assembly elections in Delhi in 2013.

It’s almost official that the party has decided against Kumar Vishwas, whose supporters had recently stormed the AAP office in Delhi while placing a poster of the poet-politician demanding his candidature for the Rajya Sabha seat.