AAP makes impressive debut in Chandigarh municipal polls, wins 14 seats; Congress’ seat tally increases from 4 to 8


Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party on Monday made an impressive debut in the Chandigarh municipal polls by winning the most number of seats. Kejriwal took to Twitter to declare it a signal of change in Punjab, which goes to polls next year.
Aam Aadmi Party

Of the 35 seats of the Chandigarh Municipal Corporation AAP won 14, the BJP 12 while the Congress candidates emerged victorious on eight seats. The Akali Dal had to contend with its original one seat.

Kejriwal tweeted, “The Aam Aadmi Party’s victory in Chandigarh municipal polls is a sign of change to come in Punjab. People of Chandigarh have today preferred the honest politics of the AAP over corrupt politics. Congratulations to all winning AAP candidates workers involved. Now Punjab is ready for change.”

BJP’s Mayor Ravi Kant Sharma and former mayor Davesh Moudgil both lost their seats to AAP candidates. But, AAP’s election campaign committee head Chander Mukhi Sharma too lost his seat, reported NDTV.

Elections were held on 24 December with the polling percentage being recorded at 60.45%.

There were only 26 seats in Chandigarh Municipal Corporation in the last elections. They were increased to 35 this time by bringing gram panchayats into the municipal body.

The BJP had won 20 seats in the last elections, the Congress four and the Akali Dal had emerged victorious on one seat. The Akali was the BJP’s ally in the past before parting ways over the issue of the three Farm laws. Another seat was won by a BJP rebel, who had contested as an independent candidate.

The lone Lok Sabha seat of Chandigarh seat was last won by BJP’s Kirron Kher.

The BJP is the only loser in the Chandigarh municipal polls with the AAP emerging as an important stakeholder. The Congress too has doubled its number of seats and increased its vote share to 23%.