AAP to contest 35 seats in 60-seat Meghalaya assembly polls


The Aam Aadmi Party on Monday announced its intention to field candidates on at least 35 of the 60 assembly seats in Meghayala elections.

Assembly polls in Meghalaya are scheduled to be held in the first quarter of this year as the term of the present Assembly expires on 6 March.

Speaking to reporters, AAP state president Wanshwa Nongtdu, said, “We are hoping to field 35 candidates for the next election as we have good chance of winning.”

Nongtdu also claimed that the chances of the AAP was ‘good,’ reported news agency PTI.

Nongtdu said that his party was confident of forming the next government in the state. He said, “We are Aam aadmi and we will have common man as candidates, we have few retired officers, few intellectuals who want to contest and we prefer our candidates be to be AAP candidates.”

Declaring the first list of candidates, Nongtdu said Peter Aiborlang Dohkrud will contest from Mawlai, Dorass Ramsiej from Mawkyrwat, Wonder Lapang will take on Congress president Celestine Lyngdoh from Umsning constituency in Ri-Bhoi and Debrict Binone from Nongpoh.

“We don’t have famous names but we do have good retired officers and qualified persons with us”, Nongtdu was quoted by The Shillong Times. 

According to the AAP leader, the candidates have been approved by AAP chief and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and party observer for North East, Rakesh Sinha.

There have been a flurry of activities in the state in the recent weeks after many Congress MLAs defected to the BJP, which has set its eyes on expanding the cadre base in the north east states of India.