5 Congress MLAs resign in Meghalaya, brings government to minority


Five Congress MLAs left the party on Thursday in Meghalaya bringing the government to minority as the party’s majority fell short of the required 31 in the 60-member assembly.

Among those who resigned also included former Deputy Chief Minister Rowell Lyngdoh, Prestone Tynsong, Coming One Ymbon, Sniawbhalang Dhar and Umroi MLA Ngaitlang Dhar.

Along with them three other MLAs, including one from the United Democratic Party and two Independents, tendered resignation from the House, Assembly Principal Secretary Andrew Simons told PTI.

The Congress MLAs, who resigned from the assembly, will also quit the party on Saturday (tomorrow).

All the eight sitting MLAs would join the Nationalist People’s Party (NPP) in a massive public rally to be held at Polo ground on 4 January, reported The North East Today.

The 60-member Meghalaya Assembly had 30 Congress MLAs. Today’s resignation comes days after another Congress MLA, P N Syiem, resigned from the party.

With today’s resignation the number of Congress legislators in the Assembly has come down to 24. The term of the current House expires on March 6 and elections are due early next year in the state along with Nagaland and Tripura.

The five Congress Legislators who put in their papers from the House had earlier rebelled against Chief Minister Mukul Sangma and the party leadership.

Four of the five Congress Legislators were part of the state Cabinet earlier and were sacked by the chief minister in the past on alleged ground of incompetence.

“Eight MLAs submitted their resignation to me at the office of the Speaker today. The Speaker was on a tour and was not available at his office,” Assembly Principal Secretary Andrew Simons told PTI.

He said the resignation letters have been sent by email to Speaker Abu Taher Mondal.