18 AIADMK MLAs loyal to Sasikala disqualified in Tamil Nadu


Tamil Nadu plunged into a huge political turmoil on Monday after 18 AIADMK MLAs loyal to V Sasikala and TTV Dhinakaran camp were disqualified by the state’s Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal under 1986 Tamil Nadu Assembly Members party defection law.

Two Tamil Nadu ministers, Jayakumar and RB Udaykumar, have arrived in Delhi to meet the Election Commission officials to submit a copy of AIADMK general council meeting.

This came after the AIADMK faction led by O Paneerselvam and Edappadi K Palaniswami decided to remove Sasikala, currently languishing in Bangalore jail, from the party’s general secretary post.

The disqualified MLAs are Thangathamilselvan (Andipatti), R. Murugan (Aarur), Cho. Mariappan Kennady (Manamadurai), Dr. K. Kathikamu (Periyakulam), C. Jayanthi Padmanabhan (Gudiyattham), P. Pazhaniappan (Paapireddipatti), V. Senthil Balajii (Aravakurichi), Dr. S. Muthaiah (Paramakudi), P. Vetrivel (Perambur), N.G. Parthipan (Sholingar), M. Kothandapani (Thiruporur), T.A> Ezhumalai (Poonamallee), M. Rengasamy (Thanjavur), R. Thangadurai (Nilakottai), R. Balasubramani (Ambur), Ethirkottai S.G. Subramanian (Sattur), R. Sundararaj (Ottapidaram) and K. Uma Maheshwari (Vilathikulam).

The Madras High Court bench on Friday had ordered the Election Commission to dispose of the issues troubling the AIADMK government in Tamil Nadu before October 31. The crisis within the AIADMK ranks has been going on since party supremo Jayalalithaa’s demise in December 2016.

More to follow