“I take full responsibility for the way I batted”: David Warner makes extraordinary confession; blames self for SRH’s defeat against Chennai Super Kings


Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper David Warner has made an extraordinary confession by blaming his slow batting for his side’s 1-run defeat to Chennai Super Kings in an IPL match. Speaking after the match, Warner said that his slow batting was to be blamed for his side’s defeat.

He said, “I take full responsibility for the way I batted, it was really slow. The way Manish batted was exceptional. Kane got us to a respectable total, but I take full responsibility.”

Warner took 55 balls to score just 57 runs even when the SRH were just one wicket down until the 18th over of the match. At one point it appeared that the SRH would struggle to reach even the 150-run mark. However, thanks to a quickfire knock by Kane Williamson, that the SRH were able to put up a respectable total of 172 runs.

Warner said, “It gets frustrating as a batsman when you find the fielders. We couldn’t take powerplay wickets and it’s always tough on a wicket like this…From a batting perspective we need to find the gaps. The guys will be hurt by this, but they’ll be up again.”

Batting first, the SRH had scored 172 in 20 overs. But, the side led by Mahendra Singh Soni, achieved the target by losing just three wickets with nine balls to spare. With this win, the CSK cemented their position as the leaders in the points table.

Dhoni said after the match, “The batting performance was superb, but that doesn’t mean the bowling was not good. It was a surprisingly good Delhi wicket, there was no dew. Brilliant opening partnership. I think addressing the problem of last year has been key.”

Ruturaj Gaikwad was declared Man Of The Match for 44-ball 75 runs. This was his second fifty in this year’s IPL. He was nicely assisted by Faf du Plessis, who made 56.

Previous article“How dare you?”: Sonu Nigam lashes out at Agartala DM for assaulting wedding guests; says ‘even PM Modi doesn’t have arrogance’
Next articleपश्चिम बंगाल विधानसभा चुनाव 2021 LIVE: कड़ी सुरक्षा के बीच 8वें चरण के लिए 35 सीटों पर मतदान जारी