Former Bigg Boss contestant Sapna Chaudhary joins Congress, likely to be fielded against Hema Malini


Former Bigg Boss contestant and famous Haryanvi dancer and singer, Sapna Chaudhary, on Saturday joined the Congress, ending months of speculations. There are reports that she may be fielded from Mathura in Uttar Pradesh against BJP’s Hema Malini in this year’s Lok Sabha elections.

Speculations over Sapna possibly joining the Congress were triggered last year in June when she arrived in Delhi to meet the UPA chairperson, Sonia Gandhi. Speaking to reporters, she had said, “You mustn’t look for a reason behind everything. I like them (Congress President Rahul Gandhi and his mother).”

When asked why she had not chosen the BJP as a party to support, Sapna had said, “Everyone has their own choice.”

Days later, a BJP MP from Karnal and editor of Punjab Kesari newspaper, Ashwini Kumar Chopra, had stoked a new controversy by making lewd comments for Sapna. Reacting to the reports of her meeting with Sonia Gandhi, Chopra had said, “Congress mein thumke lagane wale jo hain woh hi thumke lagayenge, yeh unko dekhna hai ki thumke lagane hain ya chunaav jeetna hai (There are people in Congress who shake a leg (at Sapna’s dance). They have to decide if they want to shake a leg or win elections).”

Sapna has a huge fan base in Haryana, but her participation in the reality TV show, Bigg Boss, in 2017 gave her the pan-India popularity. During the reality TV show, she had become one of the favourite contestants for the host Salman Khan.

If indeed the Congress fields Sapna against Bollywood actress-turned-politician, Hema Malini, from Mathura, this will be a contest that the Indian media will keenly follow because of its attached glamour quotient.

This will also be close on the heels of Asansol, where two politicians with entertainment background will be locking horns in this year’s polls. While the BJP has fielded its sitting MP Babul Supriyo from here, the Trinamool Congress has brought in former Bollywood actress Moon Moon Sen to wrest the seat from the saffron party.



Previous articleलोकसभा चुनाव: पटना साहिब से शत्रुघ्न सिन्हा की जगह बीजेपी ने केंद्रीय मंत्री रवि शंकर प्रसाद को उतारा, गिरिराज सिंह इस सीट से लड़ेंगे चुनाव
Next articleलोकसभा चुनाव: कांग्रेस ने जारी की 35 उम्मीदवारों की लिस्ट, राज बब्बर अब फतेहपुर सीकरी से लड़ेंगे चुनाव