Filmfare Awards excludes Akshay Kumar from 2017 nominations, angry fans said “FILMFARE AWARDS ON SALE”


Filmfare Awards nominees for 2017 were out on Monday with Shahid Kapoor-Alia Bhatt starrer ‘Udta Punjab‘ leading the list with a total of 9 nominations in the 10 top categories.

Karan Johar’s ‘Ae Dil Hai Mushkil’, which was mired in controversy last year because of the Pakistani actor, Fawad Khan’s presence in the film, too has bagged 9 nominations.

The next in the list is Salman Khan’s ‘Sultan’ with a total of 7 nominations, while Sonam Kapoor’s critically acclaimed ‘Neerja’ has received 5 nominations.

In a very unusual nominations, all three Khans,-Sahah Rukh, Salman and Aamir- will fight it out for the Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male).

Actor Alia Bhat has found two nominations, both for Best Actress in a Leading Role (Female) category for her roles in ‘Udta Punjab’ and ‘Dear Zindagi’. Other actors in the same category are Sonam Kapoor, for ‘Neerja,’ Aishwarya Rai Bachchan for ‘Sarbjit,’ Vidya Balan for ‘Kahaani2,’ and Anushka Sharma for ‘Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.’

Here’s the complete list of nominations:

Best Film
Kapoor And Sons
Udta Punjab

Best Director
Abhishek Chaubey – Udta Punjab
Ali Abbas Zafar – Sultan
Karan Johar – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Nitesh Tiwari – Dangal
Ram Madhvani – Neerja
Shakun Batra – Kapoor & Sons

Best Actor In A Leading Role (Male)
Aamir Khan – Dangal
Amitabh Bachchan – Pink
Ranbir Kapoor – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Salman Khan – Sultan
Shah Rukh Khan – Fan
Shahid Kapoor – Udta Punjab
Sushant Singh Rajput – MS Dhoni: The Untold Story

Best Actor In A Leading Role (Female)
Aishwarya Rai Bachchan – Sarbjit
Alia Bhatt – Dear Zindagi
Alia Bhatt – Udta Punjab
Anushka Sharma – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Sonam Kapoor – Neerja
Vidya Balan – Kahaani 2

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male)
Diljit Dosanjh – Udta Punjab
Fawad Khan – Kapoor And Sons
Jim Sarbh – Neerja
Rajat Kapoor – Kapoor & Sons
Rajkummar Rao – Aligarh
Rishi Kapoor – Kapoor And Sons

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female)
Kareena Kapoor Khan – Udta Punjab
Kirti Kulhari – Pink
Ratna Pathak Shah – Kapoor And Sons
Richa Chadda – Sarbjit
Shabana Azmi – Neerja

Best Music Album
Amaal Mallik, Badshah, Arko, Tanishk Bagchi, Benny Dayal and Nucleya – Kapoor & Sons
Amit Trivedi – Udta Punjab
Meet Bros, Amaal Mallik, Ankit Tiwari & Manj Musik – Baaghi
Pritam – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy – Mirzya
Vishal-Shekhar – Sultan

Best Lyrics
Amitabh Bhattacharya – Channa mereya (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil)
Gulzar – Aave re hitchki (Mirzya)
Gulzar – Mirzya (Mirzya)
Irshad Kamil – Jag ghoomeya (Sultan)
Kausar Munir – Love you zindagi (Dear Zindagi)
Late Shiv Kumar Batalvi – Ikk kudi (Udta Punjab)

Best Playback Singer (Male)
Amit Mishra – Bulleya (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil)
Arijit Singh – Ae dil hai mushkil (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil)
Arijit Singh – Channa mereya (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil)
Atif Aslam – Tere sang yara (Rustom)
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan – Jag ghoomeya (Sultan)

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Kanika Kapoor – Da da dasse (Udta Punjab)
Jonita Gandhi – Break up song (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil)
Neeti Mohan – Sau aasman (Baar Baar Dekho)
Neha Bhasin – Jag ghoomeya (Sultan)
Palak Mucchal – Kaun Tujhe (MS Dhoni: The Untold Story)
Qurat-ul-Ain Balouch – Kari kari (Pink)

The awards for the 62nd edition will be presented on 14 January in Mumbai. However, it has already evoked angry reactions from the fans of Akshay Kumar after the nominations did not have the popular actor in any category.

Akshay had three notable releases last year including Airlift, Rustom and Housefull 3. His acting in Airlift was widely appreciated and the film had even crossed Rs 100 crore at the box office.

No wonder, Akshay fans took to Twitter to register their protests and in no time manged to trend “FILMFARE AWARDS ON SALE.”

Here are some of the comments;