India’s Paralympic medallists to get prize money equal to Olympic medal winners


In a fine gesture, the Sports Ministry announced that medallists from the Paralympics in Rio de Janeiro will be given cash awards at par with the medal winners of last month’s Olympic Games.

“Gold medallists of #Paralympic Games are entitled to Rs 75 Lacs, Silver Rs 50 Lacs & Bronze Rs 30 Lacs as cash award from MYAS,” the Ministry tweeted from its official handle. “This cash award to the #Paralympic medallists is at par with medallists of #Olympics,” it added.

India has sent its biggest-ever contingent of 17 athletes to the Rio Paralympics starting on Wednesday.

The squad includes, Devendra Jhajharia, India’s first Paralympic gold medallist (Athens 2004), who is eyeing a medal at the javelin throw event in the F46 category.

The Squad

Mariyappan Thangavelu (high jump), Varun Singh Bhati (high jump), Pooja (archery), Sharad Kumar (high jump), Rampal Chahar (high jump), Sundar Singh Gurjar (javelin throw), Devendra Jhajaria (javelin throw), Rinku (javelin throw), Narender Ranbir (javelin throw), Sandeep (javelin throw), Amit Kumar Saroha (club throw), Deepa Malik (shot put), Dharambir (club throw), Ankur Dhama (1500 metres), Basha Farman (powerlifting), Suyash Narayan Jadhav (swimming), Naresh Kumar Sharma (shooting).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here