LIVE UPDATES: Pakistan’s World Cup winning cricket captain could become its next PM


Pakistan seemed heading for a hung National Assembly late on Wednesday, as the leads from counting centres showed no party getting a clear-cut majority, though it put Imran Khan-led Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) ahead of the rest, including Nawaz Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N). 73

Imran Khan

According to Pakistan’s News, with just 30 percent of the total vote counted, the Election Commission of Pakistan said that Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) party was leading in 113 of 272 contested National Assembly constituencies. Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) was ahead in 66 constituencies, and the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), led by the son of assassinated two-time prime minister Benazir Bhutto, led in 39 constituencies.

However, the rival party of disgraced former PM Sharif, PML-N, has rejected the results amid allegations of vote rigging. The voter turnout was recorded at 50-55 per cent of the nearly 106 million electorate, similar to the previous electoral contest in 2013.

Television visuals showed election workers sorting through massive piles of paper ballots at polling stations across the country.

In all likelihood, the contest seemed heading for a two-party battle between Khan’s PTI and the incumbent PML-N of former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, whose brother Shehbaz is leading its campaign.

Live updates:

  • Nawaz sees election as ‘stolen’, results as ‘tainted, dubious’  (DAWN)
  • PML-N decides against boycotting parliament
  • PTI leads with 110 NA seats; results of 19 seats yet to come in (DAWN)
  • Imran Khan’s PTI wins but falls short of majority  (Times Now)
  • Want to bring to reality a Pak Jinnah envisioned : Imran Khan
  • I had a dream for Pakistan; God has given me the opportunity to fulfil that. I started this party in 1996 and I am grateful to the people of Pakistan for supporting our party. I thank god, after 22 years of struggle, my prayers have been answered. I have got the chance to fulfill my dream and serve the nation. I joined politics because I thought the potential of our country was not being tapped : Imran Khan
  • PTI hints Asad Umar may be next finance minister
  • Former National Assembly Speaker Dr Fehmida Mirza has become the first woman in the country to have been elected for a fifth consecutive time from the same general seat.
  • Police officers replace private security guards at Imran Khan’s house  (Indian Express)
  • PTI: 119; PML-N: 61; PPP: 40; MMA: 8; MQM: 8  (DAWN)
  • PTI: 96; PML-N: 89; PPP: 4; PML: 4; IND: 1  (Times Now)
  • Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf is leading in Punjab Assembly, with Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz following behind. With 4 seats in the Assembly, Bilawal Bhutto’s PPP is nowhere in the race.
  • PTI’s Sadaqat Ali Abbasi defeats PML-N’s Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, the former prime minister of Pakistan, in NA-57 Murree, unofficial results from all polling stations (Geo News)
  • PML-N’s Khawaja Saad Rafique wins PP-168 Lahore 25 with 34,112 votes  (Indian Express)
  • PS-26 Khairpur 1 PPP’s Qaim Ali Shah wins with 48,546 votes  (Indian Express)
  • 22 years later, after humiliations, hurdles and sacrifices, my sons’ father is Pakistan’s next PM. It’s an incredible lesson in tenacity, belief & refusal to accept defeat. The challenge now is to remember why he entered politics in the 1st place. Congratulations Imran Khan : Jemima Goldsmith, Imran Khan’s ex-wife
  • PML-N’s Mehnaz Aziz wins NA-77 Narowal 1 with 111,216 votes  (Indian Express)
  • PPP’s Raja Pervaiz Ashraf wins NA-58 Rawalpindi 2 with 125,090 votes
  • Congrats PTI and Imran Khan on a truly historic victory! The 22 yr old struggle has finally paid off & deservedly. Pakistanis have a lot of expectations from u I really hope u lead from the front! I request all opposing parties& media to accept the result and help rebuild : Shahid Afridi
  • PTI’s Salim Rehman wins NA-3 Swat 2 with 68,162 votes  (Indian Express)
  • PTI’s Mohammad Khan Leghari wins from NA-192 DG Khan 4 with 80,522 votes
  • Imran Khan wins NA-95 Mianwali 1 with 162,499 votes  (Indian Express)
  • PTI’s Zulfiqar Ali Khosa wins NA-190 DG Khan 2 with 62,936 votes
  • PTI’s Zartaj Gul wins NA-191 DG Khan 3 with 79,817 votes
  • Imran Khan summons meeting at his residence as early results show PTI victory
  • PML-Q’s Chaudhary Hussain Elahi wins NA-68 Gujrat 1 with 74,680 votes
  • PTI’s Shafqat Mahmood wins NA-130 Lahore 8 with 27,405 votes
  • Official count will confirm Pakistan’s next government by evening  (Indian Express)
  • Pakistan CEC says elections were 100 per cent transparent and fair
  • ECP says results is being delayed due to result transmission system collapse
  • PPP’s Shazia Marri wins NA-216 Sanghar 2 with 82,667 votes
  • PTI’s Wasiq Qayyum Abbasi wins PP-12 Rawalpindi 7 with 27,357 votes
  • Imran Khan wins Islamabad-2 with 92,891 votes  (Indian Express)
  • Pakistan Stock Exchange bullish as Imran Khan’s PTI looks set for victory
  • Polling staff biased towards one party: Human Rights Commission of Pakistan
  • Doubts raised in US over fairness of Pakistan elections  (Indian Express)
  • Controversial televangelist and PTI candidate Aamir Liaquat in lead
  • PTI firmly in lead  (Indian Express)
  • EC denies rigging claims, to announce first official result shortly
  • Counting underway amid allegations of rigging
  • Technical glitches reported during counting
  • Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) wholly rejects the results of General Elections 2018 due to manifest & massive irregularities. Form 45 was not given to our agents, results were stopped & votes were counted in the absence of our poll agents. This is both unbearable & unacceptable : Shehbaz Sharif
  • PML-N claims elections manipulated  (Indian Express)
  • EC sends notice to Imran Khan for voting in full public view


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here