MCD bypoll results: AAP wins 5, Congress 4 and BJP 3


The counting for the 13 MCD wards that went to polls over the weekend began on Tuesday morning.

Aam Aadmi Party won five wards, Congress took four while the BJP won in three wards.

The saffron party candidates won Shalimar Bagh, Wazirpur and Nawada seats.

The BJP’s Krishna Gehlot won Nawada ward by 4843 seats.

The party’s Mahender Nagpal won Wazirpur ward by 3608 votes.

Congress won Jhilmil ward, where the party’s candidate Pankaj Luthra was declared winner.

He won Jhilmil seat by 10318 votes, defeating BJP’s Jitender Singh Shunty.

Congress also won Munirka and Qamruddin Nagar.

In Qamruddin Nagar, Ashok Bhardwaj of Congress won by 7434 votes.

In an earlier result, AAP candidate was declared winner in Tehkhand ward.

AAP’s Abhishek Bidhuri won Tekhand seat by 1555 votes.

AAP also won Matiala, Nanakpura and Vikas Nagar wards. The party’s Anil Malik won this seat by 552 votes.

The big setback for BJP came from Khichdipur, where the party’s heavyweight, Vinod Binny, lost to Congress’ Anand Kumar.

Binny’s defeat is significant because he was leading the seat all throughout Tuesday morning. Lok Sabha MP, Mahesh Giri, had campaigned for him.

The results will be a setback for the AAP, which had swept the assembly elections last year in Delhi by winning 67 out of 70 seats.

Many party leaders had predicted a clean sweep in the MCD bypolls.

The BJP has been running MCD for last 10 years and today’s results are also a big setback for the party.

Today’s results will give huge confidence to Congress, which the pundits had written off after their electoral drubbing last year in assembly elections.

Delhi chief minister, Arvind Kejriwal, said, “MCD ruled by BJP-Cong. Outsider AAP wins max seats in byelection. Thnx Delhi for reaffirming faith. Ab MCD election mein sabhi seat jeetni hai.”

Congress’ Delhi chief, Ajay Maken, said that his party’s tally will become 5 after the independent candidate joins Congress.

He, however, credited Rahul Gandhi with the Congress’ unprecedented victory in the civic body bypolls.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here