Yogi Adityanath takes oath as Uttar Pradesh’s new chief minister


Yogi Adtiyanath on Sunday was sworn in Uttar Pradesh’s new chief minister in the presence of a large group of high profile guests that included Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma were sworn in as cabinet ministers by Governor Ram Naik. Both will function as deputy chief ministers of the state.

chief minister Yogi
Photo: ANI

Among those who attended the function were Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah the outgoing chief minister Akhilesh Yadav, Samajwadi Party’s patriarch and Mulayam Singh Yadav.

Twenty two cabinet ministers sworn in by the Governor.

MLAs who took oath as cabinet ministers were Satish Mahana, Rajesh Agarwal, Rita Bahuguna Joshi, Surya Pratap Shahi and Suresh Khanna, Dara Singh Chauhan, Dharmpal Singh, S P Singh Baghel, Satyadev Pachauri, Ramapati Shastri and Jay Pratap Singh.

Chetan Chauhan, Shrikant Sharma, Rajendra Pratap Singh, Om Prakash Rajbhar, Brajesh Pathak, Laxmi Narayan Chaudhary, Siddharth Nath Singh, Mukut Bihari Verma and Ashutosh Tandon too took oath of office as cabinet ministers.

In the recently-concluded Uttar Pradesh assembly elections, the party secured 312 seats in a 403-member house, while its allies Apna Dal (Soneylal) and Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party got nine and four seats respectively.

Samajwadi Party bagged 47 seats, while its ally the Congress stooped to its lowest tally with seven seats.

Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party could manage to get only 19 seats in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

More to come


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here