Cracks in DIU BJP, Five members quit after losing Panchayat elections


With less than 2 weeks of defeat in the Diu municipal council election, BJP has lost power in the Diu Panchayat Elections as well since five of its seven elected members, including the president, decided to quit the saffron party on 17th July, 2017. BJP’s Daman and Diu unit chief Gopal Tandel, however, said the resignations have not been accepted and the issue would be resolved soon.


Diu district panchyat president Shashikant Solanki, vice-president Ashwini Bamania and members Pooja Panjani, Dhaniben Solanki and Jentilal Somalal had tendered a joint resignation from BJP’s primary membership to Bipin Shah, the party’s Diu unit president on Monday afternoon.

Shah accepted the joint resignation and forwarded the letter to Tandel, however, soon after he too resigned as Diu unit chief, citing “moral responsibility” for the defeat of BJP in the municipal election.

In the Diu municipal council election held early this month, Congress had managed to retain power by a thumping majority with 10 out of 13 seats, reducing BJP to only three. Post declaration of the above results, Kirit Vaja, vice-president of Daman and Diu state unit of BJP, had resigned, accepting accountability of the defeat.

In his quote to a leading daily on Wednesday, Shashikant said: “The party wanted me to step down as president of the district panchayat. However, I had support of the elected members. Therefore, we decided to leave… We are no longer with BJP, nor are we going to join any other political party right now. We shall continue to run the district panchayat as independents.”

The on ground dynamics have drastically changed since 2015 panchayat body election, where BJP had won seven seats, an Independent emerged victorious on one seat, while Congress had failed to register its mark. However, as on date, with the resignation of its five members, BJP has effectively lost power in the Diu district panchayat.

Amidst these developments,, BJP’s Daman and Diu chief Tandel affirmed no resignation had been accepted. “Shah, in his capacity as the Diu district unit president, has no power to accept resignation letter.

Only, the state chief has the authority. Therefore, we have not accepted their resignation letters. Nor have we accepted resignations of Shah and Vaja. The matter will be discussed at upcoming meeting of the state unit,” Tandel said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here