2 Trinamool MLAs, 1 CPI-M lawmaker and dozens of municipal councillors join BJP in Delhi


Three Trinamool Congress MLAs and hosts of municipal councillors on Tuesday quit their party to join the BJP, days after the former suffered a huge electoral setback in their citadel.

Trinamool Congress

Three MLAs included Mukul Roy’s son, Subhrangshu, Gautam Das of Gangarampur and Tusharkanti Bhattacharya of Bishnupur. Mukul Roy too was in the Trinamool before he joined the BJP, allegedly to avoid the CBI dragnet in the ponzy scam. Subhrangshu was suspended by the Trinamool for six years for ‘demeaning the party.’

Among those municipal councillors joining the BJP today were 18 councillors of Halishahar, 17 of Naihati and 14 of Kanchrapara areas, reported news agency PTI.

Also present at the BJP headquarters in Delhi were BJP’s national secretary in-charge of West Bengal affairs, Kailash Vijayvargiya, and Mukul Roy.

Also joining the BJP was Debendra Roy of the CPI-M, who represents Bijpur assembly constituency.

The next assembly elections, scheduled to be held in West Bengal, is only two years away. In the just-concluded Lok Sabha polls, the BJP won 18 seats, their highest ever tally in a state, considered to be a bastion for Trinamool chief Mamata Banerjee.

Today’s exodus is being termed as a huge setback to the ruling party of West Bengal ahead of the 2021.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here