India announce playing XI for World Test Championship against New Zealand; fans surprised by Mohammed Siraj’s exclusion in English condition


India on Thursday announced the playing XI for the World Test Championship against New Zealand, scheduled to start from 18 June (tomorrow). However, Mohammed Siraj’s exclusion from the team has left fans disappointed.
Mohammed Siraj

The team would be led by Virat Kohli with Ajinkya Rahane being his deputy. Other players include Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant as wicket-keeper, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma and Mohammad Shami.

While many appeared satisfied with the team composition, some were surprised by the omission of Siraj, who could have been handy with his swing in the English condition. Others reminded about the curse of playing Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami and Jasprit Bumrah together.

India had lost their Test match at Wellington by 10 wickets after being bowled out at 165 and 191 in their two innings respectively.

Siraj had impressed everyone last year when he made an impressive international debut in the Test series against Australia. He had taken 13 wickets in three Test matches with an average of 29.53. His performance also included a five-wicket haul in Australia’s second innings at the Gabba.

Showering praises on the young fast bowler, the stand-in captain Rahane had said, “Siraj bowled with a lot of discipline. Sometimes as debutants, you can get carried away. Guys who play first-class cricket for four-five years know what to do, it makes a captain’s job easier. The talk was all about showing attitude, intent and character.”


Previous articleछत्तीसगढ: इंडियन मेडिकल एसोसिएशन के पदाधिकारियों की शिकायत पर रामदेव के खिलाफ मामला दर्ज
Next articleBIG: Mamata Banerjee challenges Nandigram defeat by Suvendu Adhikari in Calcutta High Court