Mamata in Bengal, Amma in Tamil Nadu and Left in Kerala headed for landslide victories, Assam turns saffron

Mamata Banerjee-led TMC is set to win a historic landslide while decimating the Left-Congress alliance in West Bengal.

BJP was set to form its first government in Assam while the AIADMK and LDF crushing their rivals in Tamil Nadu and Kerala respectively.

Congress has already conceded defeat in Kerala.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi phoned Mamata in Bengal and J Jayalalitha in Tamil Nadu to congratulate them on the historic victories.

The victories by Mamata and Amma assume significance because of their ability to beat the trend of anti-incumbency in their respective states.


Mamata Banerjee, who came out to meet her supporters a while ago, is is addressing the media now.

She said, “This is unprecedented victory. Has never happened before. I thank people for reposing faith in Trinamool Congress. I must say that there has to be a minimum standard of decency in politics. Some lakshman rekha in politics must be adhered to. We expect some courtesy. Malicious campaign was launched against us. It’s not good for democracy.

“Lies were spread, all efforts were made to discredit me and my party members. There is no place for such thing in politics. People have given fitting reply to those who took the election campaign to the dirtiest possible level.”

She thanked national press for playing impartial role.

She said, ” I must thank national and international media for playing impartial role. Can’t say the same about Bengali press.”

Mamata dodged the questioned by ABP News when the reporter asked her if she would lead the third front. This was welcomed by laughter by her supporters.

ABP News, owned by Aveek Sarkar, had come for criticism by Trinamool supporters for perceived anti-TMC coverage.


Earlier updates:

  • West Bengal: Mamata Banerjee leading with 21539 in Bhabanipur, followed by Cong’s Deepa Dasmunsi (10045 votes)
  • Sincerely grateful to ppl of Assam for giving us opportunity to work fr development of state: Sarbananda Sonowal,BJP
  • We dedicate this victory to Mother Kamakhya, says BJP’s Ram Madhav on win in Assam
  • AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal trailing by over 7861 votes to Congress’s candidate from Salmara South constituency
  • Congress concedes defeat: Looks like will have to concede defeat in Kerala,yes responsibility will be fixed, says PC Chacko
  • BJP’s Chandra Bose closes gap in Bhawanipur constituency, Mamata Banerjee now leads by 158 votes
  • (10.01 AM) Kerala: LDF- 86, UDF-52, BJP+-1, Tamil Nadu: DMK and Congress- 72, AIADMK-137, BJP+-1
  • (9.58 AM)West Bengal: TMC-197, Left+Congress- 76, BJP+: 11 Assam: Congress-21, BJP:67,AUDF: 13
  • AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal trailing by over 2400 votes to Congress’s candidate from Salmara South constituency
  • BJP’s Chandra Bose in third position in Bhabanipur constituency in West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee leads
  • If this trend continues, Assam goes to BJP, Mamata keeps Bengal, Left returns in Kerala and it’s Amma in Tamil Nadu
  • (9.33AM) West Bengal: TMC’s candidate from Siliguri Bhaichung Bhutia trails CPIM candidate Ashok Bhattacharya by 1373 votes
  • BJP CM candidate Sarbananda Sonowal leading from Majuli. CM Tarun Gogoi leading from Titabor
  • (9.28 AM)Tamil Nadu: DMK and Congress- 71, AIADMK-90, BJP+-2
  • (9.27AM ) West Bengal: TMC-145, Left+Congress- 56, BJP: 9
  • Purducherry: Congress+: 12, NRC: 4
  • Mamata Banerjee’s party is surging ahead in West Bengal. TMC-117, Left+Congress- 31, BJP: 6
  • Senior CPIM leader Pinari Vijayan leading in Dharmadom constituency by 11688 votes
  • (9.17) Kerala: LDF- 81, UDF-51, BJP-2
  • (9.15 AM)Tamil Nadu: DMK and Congress- 55, AIADMK-78, BJP+-2
  • (9.14 AM) West Bengal: TMC-102, Left+Congress- 28, BJP: 5
  • Meanwhile in Gujarat, Talala By election: Congress leads by close to 800 votes
  • Assam latest EC data from postal ballots: BJP leading in Dibrugarh,Moran,Lahoal and Tingkhong
  • (9.10) Assam: Congress-13, BJP: 35,AUDF: 3, West Bengal: TMC-63, Left+Congress- 18
  • (8.48)Kerala: LDF- 42, UDF-25, BJP-4
  • (8.45) Tamil Nadu: DMK and Congress- 13, AIADMK-8, Assam: Congress-3, BJP: 2,
  • (8.40) Kerala: LDF- 32, UDF-15, BJP-2, West Bengal: TMC-6, Left+Congress- 0
  • Actor&Former Minister Ganesh Kumar (LDF) leading by 70 votes (postal ballots) in Pathanapuram constituency in Kollam in Kerala
  • (8.35 AM)Kerala: LDF- 10, UDF-9, BJP-1
  • (8.32) Kerala: LDF- 9, UDF-6, BJP-1Tamil Nadu: DMK and Congress- 1, AIADMK-2, Assam: Congress-1, BJP: 0, West Bengal: TMC-3, Left+Congress- 0
  • (8.30 am) Kerala: LDF- 5, UDF-5, BJP-0Tamil Nadu: DMK and Congress- 1, AIADMK-1, Assam: Congress-1, BJP: 0, West Bengal: TMC-3, Left+Congress- 0


Leave a Comment