Lok Sabha Polls 2024 Results LIVE: Congress-led INDIA registers emphatic performance, BJP unlikely to get majority


In a significant twist, the BJP on Tuesday looked unlikely to secure a majority in the Lok Sabha as the Congress-led INDIA coalition appeared set to register an emphatic performance.

As of now, the INDIA coalition was leading on 225 seats while the BJP-led NDA was leading on 300 seats in the 543-seat parliament. A coalition or a party needs just 273 for a simple majority.

The development has come as a huge blow to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who was hoping to cross 400 seats and enjoy a two-third majority in the parliament.

This year’s Lok Sabha polls were conducted in seven phases over a period of 50 days.


  • BJP’s tally is down to 33 from 62 that it won in Uttar Pradesh in 2019.
  • Smriti Irani is trailing by more than 78,000 votes against Kishori Lal of the Congress in Amethi
  • Industrialist Naveen Jindal is leading by more than 8,000 votes against AAP’s Sushil Gupta in Kurukshetra.
  • Actor-turned-politician Raj Babbar is leading from Gurgaon by against Rao Inderjeet Singh of the BJP by more than 7,000 votes.
  • Arun Govil of the BJP, who played the character of Lord Ram in Ramanand Sagar’s Ramayan TV series, is trailing behind Samajwadi Party’s Sunita Verma in Meerut.
  • In Thiruvananthapuram in Kerala, Congress’s Shashi Tharoor is trailing behind BJP’s Rajeev Chandrasekhar. (UPDATE: Tharoor has taken the lead now)
  • In Faizabad, the place where Ram Temple was built, BJP’s Lallu Singh is trailing behind Samajwadi Party’s Awadhesh Prasad by close to 5,000 votes.
  • In Jammu and Kashmir, PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti is trailing behind Mian Altaf Ahmed of the Jammu & Kashmir National Conference in the Anantnag-Rajouri constituency. (UPDATE: Mufti is defeated)
  • National Conference’s Omar Abdullah was trailing behind Abdul Rashid Sheikh in Baramulla by more than 121,000. (UPDATE-Omar Abdullah concedes defeat)
  • Narendra Modi, who won Varanasi by more than 4.8 lakhs in 2019 is now leading by just over 117,000 votes.

Previous articleFormer BrahMos engineer Nishant Agarwal given life sentence for spying for Pakistan
Next articleFormer business partner of Republic TV’s Arnab Goswami embarrassed by Tesla founder Elon Musk on EVM’s vulnerability to hacking amidst charges of electoral fraud